2015 DOXA Award Winners

2015 DOXA Award Winners

The 2015 DOXA Documentary Film Festival is extremely proud to announce the winners of The Feature Documentary Award, The Nigel Moore Award for Youth Programming, The Short Documentary Award and The Colin Low Award for Canadian Documentary. The juries met over the course of the festival to adjudicate, and award the winners and honourable mentions. The award ceremony took place on DOXA’s Closing Gala Presentation of Albert Maysles’s Iris at the Vancouver Playhouse on May 10th, 2015.

The Feature Documentary Award was given to Anna Roussillon’s film Je suis le peuple (I Am the People). Honourable Mention was given to Cain’s Children. Jury members Roger Evan Larry, Randy Lee Cutler and Adam Cook stated of the winning film: “The jury was united in their admiration for this remarkable debut feature. Intimate, funny, and immersive, the film allows us to witness the unfolding events of the Arab Spring and its aftermath through the eyes of a peasant farming family living in a small village near Luxor. It is documentary storytelling at its most compelling and empathic, truly a triumph. We would also like to give an honorable mention to Cain’s Children by Marcell Gerö. Tackling the topic of juvenile murderers imprisoned for most of their lives, the film offers a graceful and moving contemplation of the aftermath of trauma and guilt.”

Jury members Mark Leiren-Young, Jackie Wong, and Vanessa Kwan awarded The Short Documentary Award to Dan Popa’s film Island and Flight. An honourable mention was also given to Charlie Tyrell’s I Thought I Told You to Shut Up!! Of the winning film, the jury stated: “The stories in the film ask us what we’re leaving behind—and what lies ahead—when we travel by plane. It’s a gorgeous, poetic meditation on arrivals, departures, and the spaces between.”

Kevin Nikkel’s film On the Trail of the Far Fur Country was awarded The Colin Low Award for Canadian Documentary, presented by William F. White . An honourable mention was also given to Cliff Caines’s film A Rock and a Hard Place. Jury members Brishkay Ahmed, Nik Sheehan and Lisa g Nielsen stated: “The film evokes a nostalgia for the time while reflecting on our complicated past in a well-paced and technically accomplished film. This is a sensitive and optimistic exploration of two cultures, First Nation and European, then and now.”

The Nigel Moore Award for Youth Programming was given to Victoria Lean’s debut documentary After the Last River, which had its world premiere at DOXA. Jury members Steven Hawkins, Anna Hetherington and Jacob Saltzberg also gave an honourable mention to Jerry Rothwell’s How to Change the World