Skip to content

DOXA 2016 Award Winners!

The 2016 DOXA awards were announced on May 14th, 2016 at 7PM (PST) in advance of the Festival’s closing night screening of Kirsten Johnson’s Cameraperson.

The Nigel Moore Award for Youth Programming was presented to Tamara Herman and Susi Porter-Bopp’s We Call Them Intruders (pictured above). An honourable mention was awarded to Brad Leitch’s film Reserve 107.  Skye Fitzgerald’s 50 Feet from Syria captured The Short Documentary Award. Jury members Hal Wake, Daniel Tseghay and Marsha Lederman stated of the film: “It is a stunning, brave, raw and unforgettable work that contributes an essential perspective on this horrific situation.” Honourable mention was also given to Aaron Schock’s La Laguna, a film that “takes us deep into a lush, remote rainforest in Mexico and tells the moving story of two young brothers caught between two worlds.” The Colin Low Award for Canadian Documentary was given to Brett Story’s The Prison in Twelve Landscapes. Jury members Janice Ungano, Andrea Warner and Kathleen Jayme described the film as: “A gorgeous, raw, nuanced film that left us breathless, broken and irate.” The jury also awarded an honorable mention to Min Sook Lee’s Migrant Dreams: “An eye-opening, heart-wrenching look inside the shameful exploitation of the people who sacrifice everything to come to Canada to work as foreign labourers.” The Alliance of Women Film Journalists EDA Award for Best Female Directed Film was presented by jury members Jennifer Merin, Katherine Monk and Karen Martin. Brett Story’s The Prison in Twelve Landscapes was awarded the Feature Prize. The EDA Award for Best Short Documentary was given to Heidi Janz and Eva Colmers’s We Regret to Inform You... The Feature Documentary Award was presented to Kirsten Johnson’s Cameraperson. Jurors David Beers, Shaun Inouye and Barbara Chirinos described the winning film as: “A masterful, uniquely conceived documentary that provides both an insightful look at being a “witness” and a slowly unfurling, affecting memoir of a mother and daughter.” Honourable mention was also given to Claire Simon’s Le Bois don't les rêves sont faits. The jury members statement read: “Truly democratic in spirit, this warm, wonderful documentary’s honesty and frankness never cease to surprise.”