The DOXA award winners are selected on the basis of three major criteria: success and innovation in the realization of the project’s concept; originality and relevance of subject matter and approach; and overall artistic and technical proficiency.

DOXA is very happy to welcome an outstanding group of filmmakers, film critics, and educators to the Awards Juries this year. Jury members meet during the course of the festival to choose a winner, as well as award honourable mention to selected films.


The Alliance of Women Film Journalists EDA Award for Best Female-Directed Film

DOXA and the Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) is proud to present the EDA Award to recognize and honour excellent work by a woman film director. In addition to presenting year end awards during the annual movie awards season, AWFJ partners with select film festivals throughout the year to present EDA Awards for best female directed films in the documentary, narrative feature and short categories. EDA Awards presented at festivals are often a film’s first award, and boosts industry and public awareness of the winner, often leading to sales, other festival appearances and funding for the filmmaker’s future projects. EDA Awards are also presented in conjunction with special events, most notably with the Museum of Modern Art’s 25th Anniversary Retrospective of the POV Documentary Program on Public Television in the US. The EDA Awards were named in honour of Eda Reiss Merin, an actress, founder of AFTRA, member of AMPAS and the mother of AWFJ founder and president, Jennifer Merin.

AWFJ juries are drawn exclusively from AWFJ membership, a collective of leading professional film journalists based in the US, Canada, and the UK. To learn more about the EDA Awards and other AWFJ activities, visit

Click here to see a list of this year's jury members.

DOXA Feature Documentary Award Jurors

Pablo de Ocampo

Pablo de Ocampo is the Exhibitions Curator at Western Front in Vancouver. From 2006 to 2014, he was the Artistic Director of the Images Festival in Toronto. In 2013, he was the Programmer for the 59th Robert Flaherty Film Seminar, History is What’s Happening. He was a founding member of Portland, Oregon’s Cinema Project and has curated screenings, exhibitions, and performances at festivals, cinemas, galleries and other art spaces in Canada, the US, Europe and Asia.

Yi Cui

Yi Cui was born and raised in northwest China and currently lives between her homeland and Canada. Before starting to make films, she worked in conservation ecology. She received her MFA in film from York University in Toronto. Her body of work consists of experimental, documentary, narrative and essay films. The constant search for poetry and musicality is a recurring theme in her films. Her selected filmography includes: Ying (2011, short), Shadow Puppet (2013), Of Shadows (2016), Late Summer (2017), Through the Looking Glass (2017).

Kurt Walker

Kurt Walker is an experimental filmmaker and programmer. His first film, Hit 2 Pass (DOXA 2015), was nominated for best debut feature by the Vancouver Film Critics Circle in 2015. He is also a programmer for MUBI and co-programs for Kinet, an avant-garde cinema publishing platform.

DOXA Short Documentary Awards Jurors

Joyce Rosario

Joyce Rosario is currently Associate Curator at the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival. She developed her practice as a performance curator, alongside her work in the dance milieu leading organizations such as New Works and Made in BC – Dance on Tour. Joyce is a graduate of UBC Theatre Production/ Design Program, and was once nominated for a Jessie Richardson award for Costume Design.

Rachel Feldbloom-Wood

Rachel Feldbloom-Wood is the Grants Administrator for Bell Media’s BravoFACT program. Before joining the BravoFACT team, she worked as an arts administrator in Toronto’s non-profit arts sector for almost a decade and has been immersed in the world of arts funding since 2008, when she began working at the Toronto Arts Council.

Sarah Berman

Sarah Berman is an editor and writer for VICE Canada, based in Vancouver. Her reporting has appeared in Maclean’s, the Globe and Mail, The Tyee and the Vancouver Sun.

Colin Low Award for Canadian Documentary Jurors

Tammy Bannister

Tammy Bannister is the director of programming for R2R International Film Festival for Youth, and has produced the festival for over six years. She also coordinates, consults, and writes for VIFF’s international program. Tammy regularly scouts international festivals for R2R and VIFF, and her curatorial investigation centers on discussions of intersectionality. As a long-time associate member of the DGC, she worked as an assistant director on numerous films, TV series, independent projects, and commercials.

Lisa Christiansen

Lisa Christiansen is a broadcaster from Vancouver who currently provides traffic reports, music and “banter” at CBC Radio’s On The Coast. She is also co-host of the podcast “Pop This” — two women talking about pop culture and feminism. Lisa has also served as juror for the Polaris Music Prize and Juno Awards. She watches a lot of films and Netflix dramas, and Real Housewives wherever...

Josh Cabrita

Josh Cabrita is a freelance film critic and programmer from Vancouver who has written for CinemaScope, MUBI Notebook, the Georgia Straight, Movie Mezzanine and others. He has been a member of the Vancouver International Film Festival’s Canadian screening committee since 2015, and has served as the Artistic Director of the Port Moody Canadian Film Festival for the last three years.

Nigel Moore Award for Youth Programming

DOXA is extremely proud to announce the fifth edition of the Nigel Moore Award for Youth Programming. Named in memory of Nigel Moore, a young man whose passion for knowledge, exploration, and advocacy found a home in his love for documentary film. For younger audiences, documentary has particular relevance. The world in which they’re growing up is an increasingly complex place. Documentary not only captures this complexity, but also has the capacity to act as a catalyst for social change, and fundamentally alter people’s behaviour. The award will be adjudicated by a Youth Jury, who will choose the film that best exemplifies the qualities of compassion, social engagement, and spirit in which Nigel lived.

JURORS: Steven HawkinsJacob SaltzbergTeagan DobsonAnna Hetherington